34th ASTech Awards Winners

ASTech Awards 2023 Winners

Congratulations to all winners of the 34th ASTech Awards.

  • Early Adopter of Innovation – Sumantra “Monty” Ghosh, Alberta Health Services, University of Alberta, University of Calgary
  • Community Initiatives – NeurAlbertaTech Neurotechnologies Ltd.
  • Aerospace Innovation – Yang Gao, University of Calgary
  • Hydrogen and Alternative Energies – Exro Technologies
  • Construction/Smart Cities/ Transportation – Levven Electronics Inc., James Keirstead
  • Medical/Healthcare/Pharmaceuticals – Elise Fear, University of Calgary, Wave View Imaging
  • Agriculture/Agrifood – Livestock Gentec, Graham Plastow, John Basarab
  • Environment/Water/Air – Excir, Hiwa Salimi, Loghman Moradi, Pat Derkacz, Aaron Logan
  • Environmental Applications in Energy – Kathairos Solutions, Dick Brown
  • Energy/Cleantech – Applied Quantum Materials Inc., Jonathan Veinot
  • Sustainability Solutions/Approaches – Reimagine Architects, Vivian Manasc
  • Digital (General) – Rafiq Ahmad, University of Alberta
  • AI/ML Advancement – Hadis Karimipour, University of Calgary
  • AI/ML Application – Willowglen Systems – Wayne Karpoff, Suncor – Gordon Meyer, NTWIST – Chowdary Meenavilli
  • Social Innovation/Educational Technologies – Robogarden Inc., Mohamed Elhabiby
  • Excellence in Furthering Inclusive Communities – Ling Huang, Technology North Corporation
  • Indigenous – Led Entrepreneurship and Contribution to Knowledge – Chief Calvin Bruneau, Papaschase First Nation
  • Women in Innovation – Marlene Huerta, Alberta Innovates
  • Change Makers – Piyush Sawhney, Dr. Phone Fix
  • Innovation of the Year – Myrna Bittner – RUNWITHIT Synthetics, Dean Bittner – RUNWITHIT Synthetics, Malcom Bruce – Edmonton Global, Karen Wichuk – Edmonton Metropolitan Region Board
  • Researcher of the Year – Ying Tsui – University of Alberta, Tarek El-Bialy – University of Alberta, Jie Chen – University of Alberta, Cristian Scurtescu – SmileSonica Inc.
  • Alberta-Wide Community Champion – Andrew MacIsaac, Applied Pharmaceutical Innovation
  • Regional Innovation Champion – Melissa Hozack, TruMe Whole Health